Privacy Unpacked

Confirmed breach · 3 breaches on record

Patelco Credit Union data breach

USUnited States

Patelco Credit Union (United States) notified the Oregon Department of Justice, the California Attorney General and the Washington Attorney General of a data breach on 20 August 2024. It told the states about 726,000 Oregon residents; the total can be higher. The breach began on 23 May 2024, 89 days before it was reported.

Breach reported 20 August 2024

Status
Confirmed breach
People affected
726,000 Oregon residents (one state’s count; the total can be higher)
Reported
20 August 2024
Across the state notices
at least 734,176 people (Oregon and Washington: each state counts only its own residents)
Breach began
23 May 2024
Time to tell
89 days (the median in California’s notices over the last year: 154 days)

What was exposed

The register’s list does not say what was exposed; the notice it links to (under Sources) usually does.

Sources

Official notices are read by code from the regulator’s own register. More notices to Oregon, California, Washington. · Corrections and changes

Breach reported 9 June 2023

Status
Confirmed breach
People affected
Not reported yet
Reported
9 June 2023
Breach began
14 February 2023
Time to tell
115 days (the median in California’s notices over the last year: 154 days)

What was exposed

The register’s list does not say what was exposed; the notice it links to (under Sources) usually does.

Sources

Official notices are read by code from the regulator’s own register. More notices to California. · Corrections and changes

Breach reported 12 April 2023

Status
Confirmed breach
People affected
Not reported yet
Reported
12 April 2023
Breach began
8 February 2023
Time to tell
63 days (the median in California’s notices over the last year: 154 days)

What was exposed

The register’s list does not say what was exposed; the notice it links to (under Sources) usually does.

Sources

Official notices are read by code from the regulator’s own register. More notices to California. · Corrections and changes

If Patelco Credit Union had your data

  1. Look for Patelco Credit Union’s own notice or letter: it should say what of yours was involved. Keep it.
  2. The register’s list does not say what was exposed; the notice it links to (under Sources) usually does. If Patelco Credit Union has a password of yours, change it now to be safe.
  3. Expect scams that use your details: calls, texts or emails pretending to be Patelco Credit Union, your bank or the police. Never give codes or passwords, never approve a sign-in you did not start, never move money.

One email to confirm first. We use your address only for this alert, and one click deletes it.

More breaches in United States

  1. Quantum HealthUSUnited States · OH · 28 October 2026 Social Security numbersHealth insurance detailsHealth and medical information+1 273.1KTexas residents
  2. Indico Data SolutionsUSUnited States · MA · 28 October 2026 Social Security numbersDriver’s license numbersGovernment ID numbers+6 2.1KTexas residents
  3. Apollo Asset ManagementUSUnited States · NY · 28 October 2026 Social Security numbersDriver’s license numbersGovernment ID numbers+3 1.5KTexas residents
  4. DBA Tanya AlexanderUSUnited States · TX · 28 October 2026 NamesAddresses 417Texas residents
  5. DMW Retail Enterprises LLC dba Kult of Athena (KOA)USUnited States · IL · 28 October 2026 Financial account and card detailsNames 306Texas residents

Every breach in United States →

From the data breach tracker: official notices, breach databases and the news, every fact with its source. Open data (CC BY 4.0) · How the tracker works · Official registers · Corrections and changes · Found a mistake? Tell us and we correct it.