Privacy Unpacked

Confirmed breach

University of Nottingham data breach

GBUnited Kingdom · nottingham.ac.uk

A breach of University of Nottingham (United Kingdom) was added to Have I Been Pwned’s breach database on 10 June 2026. It affected 454,635 accounts. Exposed: Passport numbers, Email addresses, Phone numbers, Dates of birth, Names and Addresses and more. The breach began on 9 June 2026, 1 day before it was reported.

Status
Confirmed breach
People affected
454,635 accounts
Reported
10 June 2026
Breach began
9 June 2026
Time to tell
1 days (the median in California’s notices over the last year: 154 days)

What was exposed

  • Passport numbers
  • Email addresses
  • Phone numbers
  • Dates of birth
  • Names
  • Addresses
  • Usernames
  • IP addresses
  • Academic records
  • Citizenship statuses
  • Disabilities
  • Ethnicities
  • Genders
  • Purchases
  • Salutations

Sources

Breach databases are read by code. · Corrections and changes

If University of Nottingham had your data

  1. Look for University of Nottingham’s own notice or letter: it should say what of yours was involved. Keep it.
  2. An ID number cannot be changed, so lock it: a credit freeze or fraud alert in the US, a credit warning (kreditadvarsel) on borger.dk in Denmark, Cifas protective registration in the UK.
  3. Expect scams that use your details: calls, texts or emails pretending to be University of Nottingham, your bank or the police. Never give codes or passwords, never approve a sign-in you did not start, never move money.

One email to confirm first. We use your address only for this alert, and one click deletes it.

More breaches in United Kingdom

  1. Welsh organizationsreportedGBUnited Kingdom · 27 October 2026 Sensitive information 3.3Kpeople
  2. PwCGBUnited Kingdom · 26 October 2026 Employee learning recordsHR dataInternal files –not reported
  3. UK BiobankreportedGBUnited Kingdom · 26 October 2026 500Kpeople
  4. Ogi Networks and Data CymruGBUnited Kingdom · 20 October 2026 Personal informationPersonal data 3.3Kpeople
  5. Legal Aid AgencyreportedGBUnited Kingdom · 15 October 2026 Legal records –not reported

Every breach in United Kingdom →

From the data breach tracker: official notices, breach databases and the news, every fact with its source. Open data (CC BY 4.0) · How the tracker works · Official registers · Corrections and changes · Found a mistake? Tell us and we correct it.